Build 5744 RC2 Experience

Well I’ve been having some problems, tried to upgrade from XP and the previous RC1 build, finally gave up. Was having all kinds of weird problems, some of it was software problems, but the biggest was the hardware problem.
 
For the longest time I was borrowing someone else’s ATI Radeon 9660 video card, that displayed the Aero desktop of Windows Vista quite nicely, and it wasn’t really that much of a video card. So I picked up an ATI x1300 a few weeks ago, and it’s a fairly powerful video card and so far, I have been unable to get it to work. In fact, what I’ve experienced is that Vista will actually lock up prior to completing the install.
 
I was unable to get an install to boot while the x1300 was installed, so I replaced it with the original GeForce 4200 and got Vista to install and boot. After I was able to boot into Vista, I replaced the GeForce with the x1300, Vista booted up and detected the card and then asked to reboot. After rebooting Vista blue-screened with a hardware driver entering an "infinite loop".
 
The only way I was able to get Vista to boot regularly was to uninstall the x1300 drivers that caused the loop, and before rebooting installing the Catalyst drivers from ATI. The down side apparently is that I am unable to get the Aero desktop to work. I have a video card with as much system ram as my computer has, and possibly about the same speed processor, and I get nada.
 
To add to that, my SBLive card went undetected until I installed the Windows XP driver for it, but that has been that way since before Beta 2, not to mention the Perc2 Raid card I have uses a Windows 2000 driver.
This entry was posted in Windows Vista Beta. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment