0629: Test Deployment

 

Using Remote Installation Services I deployed Windows XP SP2 onto my test machine, Dell Precision 390. Once the image was in place I installed the base load that all Lab computer must have available. This install comprises approximately 30 applications ranging from something as simple as , to applications as complex as .

After completing the installation of all the software, I proceeded to clean the computer up, Empty Recycle Bin, Clear Document List, Clear Application List and Degragment the hard drive. I connected to the Remote Installation Share and ran the , and with the exception of one error everything ran smoothly. I will need to reinstall the software through a GPO.

I sucessfully connected two test machines, both Dell Precision 390’s and the imaging appears to be going smoothly, will have to test the images on Monday.

Thoughts:

Putting this in to production there will be a few things to consider, first KU uses for all their DHCP needs. I need to find out if ANSR supports the required for RIS to work properly. KU also uses BIND to handle all name registrations and I need to see if they comply with RFC’s , . Might possibly have to use a private network to deploy image to lab computers, perhaps a "mobile deployment station".

This entry was posted in RIS0607. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment